Published on 20 August 2017

19-year-old Cheri Wee is the first student from School of the Arts to be awarded the prestigious President’s Scholarship.

By Melanie Lee

When Cheri Wee learned that she was awarded the President’s Scholarship, she felt “humbled and encouraged”.

“I took a leap of faith in choosing SOTA six years ago, and it has been an incredible journey within an unusual education track,” she told The A List.

While Wee had aspired to become a professional ballerina when she first joined SOTA, the broad-based arts education she received over the years made her realise that the arts went beyond performance. With this scholarship, she will be reading Psychology and Philosophy at the University of Oxford.

“I’m particularly keen to explore the use of the arts as a form of psychological therapy and to examine how they can transcend boundaries and connect communities,” Wee said.

She believes that the education she received in SOTA will serve her well in her tertiary studies.

“At SOTA, I was exposed to a wide variety of subjects that helps us to think about current issues holistically, and to challenge the conventional boundaries and stereotypes. That is essentially what the disciplines of psychology and philosophy both engage in – they utilise quantitative and qualitative methods to explore human behaviour and motivations in a wide variety of contexts.”

Wee also intends to continue researching, reviewing and writing about the arts in different cultures in her own time.

“This is something I was first introduced to at SOTA, and it remains an area I want to explore further as I widen my horizons abroad,” she said.

Besides Wee, these are the other SOTA 2016 graduates who received government scholarships:

Public Service Commission

Claire Chung (Theatre, Class of 2016) – Linguistics, University of Cambridge

Hu Zhenqi (Music, Class of 2016) – International Relations, Stanford University

National Arts Council

Kwok Min Min (Dance, Class of 2014) – Arts Management, Goldsmiths, University of London

Lai Yu Tong (Visual Arts, Class of 2014) –  Fine Arts, LASALLE College of the Arts

Nur Sabrina Binte Dzulkifli (IBCP Theatre, Class of 2015) – Drama and Literature, University of Essex

Samuel Phua (IBCP Music, Class of 2015) – Music, Sibelius Academy, University of the Arts Helsinki

Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore

Sowmya Srinivasan Iyer (Class of 2016) – Aerospace Engineering, Nanyang Technological University of Singapore

Scroll Up